Weather Alert

Setting Congressional District Boundaries

Legislation that will establish new boundaries for Missouri’s eight congressional districts is one step closer to consideration on the House floor. The House Special Committee on Redistricting gave its stamp of approval to House Bill 2117 on Wednesday, during a public hearing in the State Capitol. The committee chair and vice-chair said the map approved by the committee was created with input from legislators representing their constituents, public testimony from citizens across the state of Missouri, and 2020 census data.

The proposed map would move Laclede County and Pulaski County from the 4th Congressional District to the 8th Congressional District. According to State Representative Jeff Knight, that map would impact the communities that have a military base

The proposed map would also split Camden County between the 3rd and 4th Congressional Districts. HB 2117 must now receive approval from the House Rules Committee before moving to the House floor for discussion. The bill will be discussed on the floor on Tuesday, January 18.


Connect With Us