Missouri minimum wage increases
(Jefferson City – If you’re an hourly worker, you may be receiving more wages next year. The Missouri Department of Labor and Industrial Relations has announced that the state minimum wage rate for 2021 will go up to $10.30 per hour. Proposition B, which was approved by Missouri voters in 2018, provides for an 85-cent per hour increase each year through 2023. All private businesses are required to pay at a minimum the $10.30 hourly rate, except retail and service businesses whose gross annual sales are less than 500-thousand dollars. Missouri’s minimum wage law does not apply to public employers, nor does it allow the state’s minimum wage rate to be lower than the federal minimum wage rate.
Compensation for tipped employees must also total at least $10.30 per hour. Employers are required to pay tipped employees at least 50 percent of the minimum wage, plus any amount necessary to bring the employee’s total compensation to a minimum of $10.30 per hour.