Municipal elections were held in Pulaski County on Tuesday.
In Waynesville, Jerry Brown was elected mayor without opposition. In Ward One, Robert Rice appeared to edge out Shaun Stewart for a city council seat–21 votes to 19. Cecil V. Davis the Second was unopposed for Ward Two Councilman. Edward Conley was unopposed in Ward Three and Michael Curtis unopposed in Ward Four.
In St. Robert, Theresa Alexander Cook beat Glen Askeland 37-to-26 for the Ward One council seat, Linda Daniels beat Jon M. Byrom 21-to-8 in Ward Two. Todd Williams was unopposed for re-election in Ward Three and Michael Myers in Ward Four.
St. Robert voters appear to have narrowly approved a 2.25 percent local use tax on online sales by a vote of 102-to 96. The funds generated from this tax would be be used to fully fund public safety needs, with any additional funds being applied to other general fund needs.
In Crocker, Brian Williams appears to have edged out Jeff Curry for Ward One councilman by one vote–21 votes to 20.
Michael Criswell was unopposed for Ward Two councilman.
The Crocker use tax proposal on online sales apparently was defeated by a narrow margin–56 votes to 54.
Several races and two tax proposals were decided in Dixon with Tuesday’s election.
Leslie Hansmann won the race for Municipal Judge by 107 votes to 63 for Brett Swanson and 40 votes for Gwendolyn Miles.
Gary Brankel won the contest for Dixon Marshal over Charlie Mc Peak 128 votes to 91.
Barbara Thomas was unopposed for the Ward One council post, Mary Wiles won the three-way race for Ward Two council, receiving 69 votes to 24 votes for Dawna E. Fleming and 15 votes for Larry A. Russell, Junior. Trevor Warnol won in Ward Three, receiving 51 votes to 12 for Shawn B. Stevens.
The Dixon City Sales Tax for Law Enforcement Proposal apparently was approved by a narrow margin in the unofficial returns–115 yes to 105 no.
The Dixon use tax proposal on online sales was defeated by a wide margin–136-to-70.
Richland city vote totals are incomplete at this time.