Starting on January first, any service or retail business that has gross sales of $500-thousand-dollars or more, and all private businesses will be required to increase minimum wage pay to $12.30 per hour. Compensation for tipped employees must also total at least $12.30 per hour. Employers are required to pay tipped employees at least 50 percent of the minimum wage, plus any amount necessary to bring the employee’s total compensation to a minimum of $12.30 per hour.
The minimum wage increase was approved by Missouri voters in 2018, the minimum wage increased by 85 cents an hour each year through 2023.
Starting in 2024, the minimum wage may increase or decrease each year depending on cost-of-living changes reflected in the Consumer Price Index for Urban Wage Earners and Clerical Workers. Missouri’s minimum wage law does not apply to public employers, nor does it allow the state’s minimum wage rate to be lower than the federal minimum wage rate.