First Day Filers For State Offices Crowded Into the Secretary of State’s Office on Tuesday

Tuesday was the first day to file for state and federal offices for the August primary election.
3 Democrats–Karla May of St. Louis, December Harmon of Columbia, and Lucas Kunce of Independence–filed for the office of Missouri U-S Senator. Current U-S Senator from Missouri, Josh Hawley, was not among the first-day filers.
Republican Mark Alford of Raymore filed for re-election as 4th District U-S Congressman. Democrat Jeanette Cass of Niangua also filed for the Congressional seat in the 4th district.
There were 8 Republican first-day filers for Missouri Governor, 3 Democrats, and one Libertarian party candidate. One of the filers for Governor was Jay Ashcroft, the current Secretary of State. Missouri News Network’s Harshawn Ratanpal spoke on Tuesday with Ashcroft about the upcoming election year and his own candidacy for governor.

Five Republicans filed for Lieutenant Governor–Dean Plocher of Clayton, Holly Rehder of Scott City, Dave Wasinger of De Peres, Linchol Hough of Springfield, and Paul Berry of Maryland Heights.
Seven Republicans filed for Secretary of State. 3 Republicans for State Treasurer, 2 Republicans and 1 Democrat for Attorney General. This included current Attorney General Andrew Bailey, who filed Tuesday for the post he was appointed to.
One candidates filed for State Representative for the 121st District–Republican incumbent Bill Hardwick of Waynesville. Republican incumbent State Representative in the 124th District–Don Mayhew of Crocker–filed for re-election. Democrat Tara Hallmark of Dixon filed in opposition.
Bill Hickle, Republican from Rolla, filed for re-election as Circuit Judge in the 25th Judicial Circuit, Division 1.