(Jefferson City)–Fall hunting seasons for deer, turkey, and other game will begin in a little over eight weeks, and the Missouri Department of Conservation is encouraging hunters who need to complete a hunter education course to do so early. With some exceptions, residents between the ages of 16 and 54 are required by law to obtain hunter-education certification before they can legally hunt in the state. With the Covid-19 pandemic disrupting normal in-person classes, state officials note that the conservation department now offers an online course.
The online course, which costs $20, may be completed by Missouri residents 16 years of age and older at www.hunter-ed.com/missouri. For more information about Missouri’s hunter-education requirements, visit mdc.mo.gov/huntereducation.