(Fort Leonard Wood)–U.S. Army Maneuver Support Center of Excellence senior leaders announced the winners of the 2020 Best Warrior Competition during a ceremony Thursday on Gammon Field.
MSCoE’s 2020 Best Warriors are:

— Officer of the Year Capt. Andrew Friesen, 3rd Chemical Brigade

— Drill Sergeant of the Year Staff Sgt. Erik Rostamo, 14th Military Police Brigade

— NCO of the Year Staff Sgt. Jonathan Burrill, MSCoE Noncommissioned Officer’s Academy

— Joint Service NCO of the Year Marine Sgt. Trent Hall, U.S. Marine Corps Detachment

— Soldier of the Year Spc. Joseph Murrell, 399th Army Band

Each of the winners were presented an Army Commendation Medal by Command Sgt. Maj. James Breckinridge, MSCoE and Fort Leonard Wood.

Speaking at the ceremony, Breckinridge said one of his passions is leader development and one of the core components of becoming a leader is “straight up, tough competition – to win, because winning matters.”

He called this year’s event “tough and grueling.”

Each of the competitors endured three straight days of mental and physical challenges, to include marksmanship with multiple weapons systems, first aid, day and night land navigation, a one-kilometer swim, a hand-written essay and an examination.